Bandon Dunes, a golfers dream
Every golf fanatic has probably wanted to go to Bandon Dunes and has it on their bucket list. My husband did and for months he organized his trip, ordering new gear from Rock Bottom Golf, his favorite go-to-golf store. It is located 3 hours north of Ashland and 5 hours south from Cannon Beach.
Bandon Dunes-Golf as it was meant to be: The word has become ingrained in the lexicon of golf, synonymous with the great pilgrimages every golfer must make. What began with a vision to create true links on the Oregon coast has grown not only to encompass five acclaimed courses but also to embody the spirit of the game. Click here for more info.
Bandon Dunes Golf Resort is a complex of five golf courses located just north of the city of Bandon. This is where Carl will be at for the next few days in his glory of golf, with all of his new gear from Rock Bottom Golf. Four of the five golf courses are
The small town of Bandon located directly on the Oregon Coast, is full of restaurants, shops and art galleries. We had the best clam chowder at Tony’s Crab Shack, right on the harbor pier. Bandon was named by Lord George Bennet, an Irishman, who settled nearby in 1873 and named the town after Bandon in Ireland, his hometown. Bennett introduced a spiny plant, gorse, into the local area, which in the following decades went wild and became a nuisance in both the town and in the neighboring countryside. Gorse grows so thickly a person cannot walk through it and it is also a very oily plant, which easily catches fire. In 1936, a forest fire several miles east of town, ignited the town’s abundant gorse and became engulfed in flames, burning the entire commercial district with a loss of $3 million and 11 fatalities. Firefighters found that burning gorse reacted to having water squirted on it like a kitchen grease fire—it simply spread burning gorse everywhere. There is still gorse in Bandon today, but municipal codes strictly regulate how high and thick it may be allowed to get. Today, the population is over 3,000, but grows dramatically in the summer months.
Cranberries – produced in Bandon
Bandon is a center of Cranberries production. More than 100 growers harvest about 1,600 acres around Bandon, accounting for about 95 percent of Oregon’s cranberries, and about 5 percent of the nation. Production averages about 30 million pounds of berries when harvested in the fall. Between 1928 and 2000, dairy production and cheese making were an integral part of Bandon’s economy. The Bandon facility was damaged in the fire of
Bandon Dunes-An Architects Tour: Scotland Comes to Oregon – an Architect’s Tour(tm) (DVD) This unique DVD Tour features Bandon Dunes – Ranked # 33 in the U.S. (Golf Digest – 2009) Bandon Dunes, in Southern Oregon, is one of our nation’s greatest golf courses. Located on the Pacific it is a pure links course designed by Scotland’s David McLay Kidd. Bandon is a public course accessible to all golfers. Click here for more info.
Oregon Coast National Wildlife Refuge
The Oregon Coast National Wildlife Refuge has a path along the cliffs that is extremely well maintained and 145-degree views down the entire coastline. This refuge consists of six National Wildlife Refuges along the Oregon Coast, providing protection to thousands of small islands, rocks, reefs, headlands, marshes, and bays totaling 371 acres spanning 320 miles of Oregon’s coastline. The areas are all managed by the United States Fish and Wildlife Service. The six National Wildlife Refuges—three marines, and three estuarine—are from Tillamook Head south to the California/Oregon border. The marine refuges are Three Arch Rocks, Oregon Islands, and Cape Meares. The estuaries are Bandon Marsh, Nestucca Bay
The Story of Table & Face Rock
Bandon is known for its beaches and rock formations, including Table Rock and Face Rock. Face Rock is a large sea stack of resistant rock which carries an American Indian legend about this spot. Locals say a maiden’s voice can be heard in the wind, and standing on the cliff overlooking the ocean you can easily pick out the face on Face Rock. The Nah-So-Mah Tribe tells the story like this: “The beautiful Indian princess, Ewanua, was visiting tribes on the coast with her father, Chief Siskiyou. In celebration of their visit, a great potlatch took place. The local tribes were in great fear of Seatka, the evil spirit of the ocean, but Ewanua and those in her tribe, who lived in the mountains, were not afraid. After the feast, while others lay sleeping, Ewanua carried her dog, Komax, and her cat and kittens in a basket and wandered down to the ocean. She danced and played with delight, and soon placed her pets in their basket on the beach and swam into the ocean, far from shore. Unaware of any danger, she was suddenly grabbed by a fearsome creature that came out of the water. Komax, knowing his mistress was in danger, swam out to her with the basket in his mouth and bit Seatka. Howling with rage, the monster kicked off the dog and threw the cat and kittens far out to sea. He tried to get the princess to look at him, but she refused, knowing his power was in his eyes. Now, the beautiful Ewanua lies in the ocean, looking skyward, refusing to look at
Coquille River Lighthouse
The Coquille River Lighthouse foghorn calls all day and can be faintly heard as you walk the streets of Bandon. Originally named “Bandon Light”, Coquille River Lighthouse was first lit on February 29, 1896, the light guided mariners past the dangerous shifting sandbars into the Coquille River and harbor at Bandon. From 1936, the town soon became bankrupt as a result of the decline in shipping. Coquille Light was shut down in 1939 and replaced by an automated light on the south jetty. The light was originally built with a trumpet for its foghorn, which was used as the light’s fog signal for several years. However, at certain times due to specific weather conditions, the sound of the trumpet would fail, and in 1910 the trumpet was replaced by a more reliable fog siren. While mariners liked the new signal, many Bandon residents did not. The siren would eventually be removed along with the Fresnel lens after the light’s decommissioning. Over the next 37 years, the condition of the light deteriorated due to neglect and vandalism, until 1976, when its first major restoration began. However, by this time, the keeper’s quarters and other outbuildings had deteriorated past the point of repair and were eventually removed. In 1991, a new solar-powered light was installed in the tower. Renovations in 2011 eventually occurred, restoring it as close to its current condition as possible.